DayKnight Festival Winter 2015

DayKnight Festival Winter 2015

You have no idea how happy and excited I am for this Saturday’s DayKnight Festival.  At this point you’re probably wondering what the heck I’m talking about.  Basically a number of streamers from the DayKnight community go live on Twitch to play games with you, me and everybody who wants to have (mostly) clean fun for a few hours.  The first one I participated in was held on August 1st this year, and it went so well that it’s happening again!  On December 19th from 6pm EST/3pm PST we’re going to be playing games like Heroes of the Storm, StarCraft II arcade, Rocket League, Halo 5: Guardians and a creative stream among others.

Despite diligently honing my sub-standard MOBA skills (Li Li rules!) for Heroes of the Storm, I’ll actually be learning crochet live that day with the wonderful and talented, Aktaia. Full disclosure: I have crocheted before but it was a long time ago in a land far, far away.  I have needles, a copy of Chicks with Sticks Guide to Crochet: Learn to Crochet in a Weekend / No Think * No Fear * No Sweat Crochet and a sizeable pile of yarn.  Let’s make all the woolly things!

DayKnights Brunch Meet Up 2015

A few DayKnights met up with Sean “Day9” Plott for brunch during Twitchcon 2015. (Photo Credit: Austin “Trumpetmcool” Howick)

If you’re concerned that you won’t be welcome among the gamers (yes, gamers) then don’t be. First off they welcomed me with open arms and the demographic is vast.  The chance that you won’t meet like-minded people is actually pretty slim.  Besides I would never invite you to be part of it unless quite sure of what kind of people they are.  However there will be moderators on hand to make sure that misbehaviour is kept to a minimum and dealt with immediately. As stated on the festival’s official website, the only requirements are that we:

  • Learn lots
  • Don’t judge
  • Laugh for no reason
  • Be nice
  • Seek happiness

Sounds like a good time to me!  Here is the current roster of streamers:

For more details, check out http://www.dayknightfestival.net/ for streamer details and to apply if you’d like to host.  Also follow the official Twitter account: https://twitter.com/dkfestival for immediate updates. I hope to see you there!

Event Update:

Great news for the EU folks! There will be a creative stream from 10:00am to 12:00pm GMT (2:00am to 4:00am PST / 5:00am to 7:00am EST). Join Laura at http://www.twitch.tv/mirrageofhope!